UAPA is the only trade association that exclusively represents the interests of the asphalt pavement material producer and paving contractor on a local level with government agencies and other trade and business organizations.

We support an active communication platform designed to answer questions about environmental issues and to improve the quality of asphalt pavements and paving techniques used in the construction of roads, streets, highways, parking lots, airports, and environmental and recreational facilities. We provide technical, educational, and marketing materials and information to our members, as well as technical information to users and specifiers of paving materials. 
Our local chapter was organized in 2012, and our members include asphalt pavement producers, paving contractors, equipment manufacturers, materials suppliers, equipment distributors, engineering firms and consultants. Our members are the people who build Utah’s roads.

UAPA Mission white icon new-01


The Utah Asphalt Pavement Association (UAPA) is committed to being the unified voice of the asphalt industry and promoting the quality and use of asphalt pavements in Utah.

UAPA Southern Council

UAPA Southern Council focuses on all aspects of asphalt and pavement that are unique to Southern Utah. The members include asphalt pavement producers, paving contractors, equipment manufacturers, materials suppliers, equipment distributors, engineering firms and consultants. Our members are the people who build Utah’s roads. Together we are paving the future.

Antitrust Statement

The Association adopts the following antitrust statement: Utah Asphalt Pavement Association (UAPA) is organized to promote, develop and maintain the advancement of the asphalt pavement industry. UAPA is not intended to and may not play any role in the competitive decisions of its Members or their employees or in any way restrict competition in any aspect of the asphalt pavement industry.

 UAPA through this statement of policy makes clear its unequivocal support for the policy of competition served by the antitrust laws and its uncompromising intent to comply strictly in all respects with those laws. It is the individual responsibility of every Member of UAPA to be guided by the antitrust laws. It shall be the special responsibility of any Member, Committee Chairman and UAPA Officers to assure that this policy is known and adhered to in the course of activities pursued under their leadership.

It is not UAPA’s role to act as arbiter or judge of competitive conduct of industry Members. As such, this statement of antitrust policy is not a mechanism through which Members should charge another Member with an alleged illegal action.

Article 13 UAPA Bylaws

Association Objectives


Promote the use of asphalt as the premier material for road construction and maintenance.


Educate, monitor, and lobby about asphalt and its benefits to the community.


The Executive Director and Board work as a unified voice with UDOT and local government agencies throughout Utah.


Provide ROI to its members through increased market share, innovation, education, and fair market principles.


Market asphalt to all agencies in their pavement selection process. Educate and lobby for extensive use of asphalt pavements.


Expand the information and communication network between members, customers, legislature and government entities.

What our memberS are saying
Board and Committees

Brian Burr • Staker Parson Material & Construction
James Inglis • Granite Construction Company
Jared Wright • Peak Asphalt
Chris Gonzalez • Sinclair Oil Company
Jim Hulse • Mountain States Asphalt
Dale Hansen • Asphalt Materials, Inc.
Waylund Ludlow • Geneva Rock Products
Dean Garrett • Morgan Pavement
Cort Vangorder • Kilgore Companies
Bup Minardi • Mountain Regional Equipment Solutions
Jeremy Thomas • Suncor Energy (USA) Inc.

PRESIDENT • Jeff Collard • Hales Sand & Gravel
PAST PRESIDENT • Jaden Kemp • GeoDyne Transport
PRESIDENT ELECT • Doug Watson • CMT Engineering Laboratories
SECRETARY • Cody Rhoades • Wheeler Machinery Co.
TREASURER • Casey Hawkins • Geneva Rock Products

COMMITTEE CHAIR • Dan McDaniel • Geneva Rock Products
Victor Johnson • Geneva Rock Products
Luke Peterson • Staker Parson Materials & Construction
Sammy Lovato • Hales Sand & Gravel
Cort VanGorder • Kilgore Companies
Justin Ballantyne • Kilgore Companies
Tim Biel • PEPG Consulting
Gene Chrisenbery • Mountain States Asphalt
Bob Siffert • Ingevity
Truston Humphries • Sunroc
Brody Young • Peak Asphalt
Tyler Surrage • Staker Parson Materials & Construction
Ryan Proctor • Suncor
Jared Wright • Peak Asphalt
Braden Watson • CMT Engineering Laboratories
Rick Bird • All States Materials Group
Nolan Poulsen • Pacific GeoSource
Tony Johnston • WW Clyde

COMMITTEE CHAIR • CJ DavisHolbrook Asphalt
Bart Freeman • Seal Coat Supply
Chad Dyer • NuRock Asphalt Coatings
John Moody • SealMaster Utah
Chris Hanks • M&M Asphalt Services, Inc.
James Clark • Crafco
Nicole Maxwell • Maxwell Products, Inc.
Nick Howell • T&N Asphalt Services
Jake Martinez • Eckles Paving
Kory Longnecker • Eckles Paving
Mark LaBelle • Asphalt Systems, Inc.
Mark Christensen • J-U-B Engineers, Inc.
Paul Foster • Granite Construction, Inc.

Craig Fabrizio • Staker Parson Materials & Construction
Victor Johnson • Geneva Rock Products
James Clark • Crafco
Nicole Shields • Barricade Services
Elie Hajj • University of Nevado
Pedro Romero • University of Utah
Dave Johnson • Asphalt Institute
Waylund Ludlow • Geneva Rock Products
Nick Jones • LTAP
Michelle Butler • LTAP
Doug Watson • CMT Engineering Laboratories
Paul Ziman • FHWA
Howard Anderson • Utah Department of Transportation
Mark Beatty • Holbrook Asphalt
Skyler Droubay • Double D Distribution
Aaron Venz • Wheeler Machinery Co.

COMMITTEE CHAIR • Victor Johnson • Geneva Rock Products
Bryce Peterson • Geneva Rock Products
Brian Burr • Staker Parson Materials & Construction
Scott Fernald • Granite Construction, Inc.
Nicole Shields • Barricade Services
Jaden Kemp • GeoDyne Transport
Skylar Droubay • Double D Construction
CJ Davis • Holbrook Asphalt
Jaren Wright • Peak Asphalt
Cort Van Gorder • Kilgore Companies

COMMITTEE CHAIR • Jaden Kemp • GeoDyne Transport
Dale Hansen • Asphalt Materials
Bret Walker • Kilgore Companies
Bryon Gravley  • Double D Distribution
Craig Fabrizio • Staker Parson Materials and Construction
Waylund Ludlow  • Geneva Rock Products
Dan Matthews • Geneva Rock Product

COMMITTEE CHAIR • Jeremy Leonard • Western Rock Products
Brock Rasmussen • Hales Sand & Gravel
Mark Owens • Landmark Testing
Mike Smith  • St George City
Clayton Wilson • Utah Department of Transportaion
Gary Talbot  • Sunroc
CJ Davis • Holbrook Asphalt
Stephen Steed • Coughlin Company
Dusty Baird • Straight Stripe Painting, Inc.
Riley Champneys • Utah Department of Transportation
Zach Girsberger • Landmark Testing


Reed Ryan is UAPA’s Executive Director and has been since 2012. He has a history of working in the transportation/infrastructure industry. His undergraduate degree is in political science, and he has a graduate degree from The George Washington University Law School.

Reed enjoys reading and has a long list of books that he is willing to recommend. He is an avid outdoorsman and enjoys spending time with his family.


Keri Dumont is UAPA’s Office Manager, and works on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday of each week.

Keri comes to UAPA from the playground surfacing industry, where she spent 18 years, with the last 10 of those years as an Operations Assistant. She worked with many lumber-mill locations to manufacture engineered wood fiber, as well as testing to ensure industry standards. Keri is happily married and has a son and a daughter. She enjoys vacations with her family, with Yellowstone being one of her favorite destinations.


10808 S River Front Pkwy #368
South Jordan, UT 84095

Our hours

9:00 AM – 5:00 PM
Monday – Friday


Phone: 801-984-8192
Fax: 801-566-0708